Dev Diary #13 - Developer Townhall and Steam Greenlight
Posted on November 11, 2016

Hey there galactic captains!

It's Friday again (yay!) so it's time for another dev diary. This week we have a lot of exciting news for you so let's get right to it!


Developer Townhall Talk on Discord

Having an active relationship with the community has always been our priority during development. However we feel that we can take it to the next level. That's why we'd like to invite you to a live townhall talk on Discord. Do you have a question about development that we haven't yet answered? Would you like to suggest a change to a feature or balance? Do you think we are missing an opportunity? Would you just like to say hello to Dexter? Then see you on Discord! :-)

Where? - > GJL Town Hall Talk Discord channel (link: https://discord.gg/34nqpkj)
When? -> Next Thursday November 17, 16:00 CET (15:00 GMT, 10:00 EST, 18:00 MSK)

Thanks to Cheatos for the suggestion. If you're unable to make it, you can post your questions on the channel or in the comments to this diary.

 

Here are some topics we can talk about:

 

Steam Greenlight

We're glad to announce, that we will be applying for Steam Greenlight next Wednesday, November 16, 2016! We would like to ask all of you for your support so that GJL may join the largest gaming platform in the world. As we have said before, an Early Access Launch of the game is planned for January 2017 and Greenlight is a necessary phase the project must pass to get there. One of the advantages for the community should be a publicity and playerbase boost generated by the greenlight process.

Development Roadmap

Because of the Greenlight and to increase the transparency of the project we will be releasing a development roadmap before the Discord Town Hall. It will cover planned features for updates until Steam Early Access and probably even a little after that.

Some concept art for the game.

 

Builder improvements

We've started design work on improving the build mode. The first phase of changes will include a greatly improved paint mode, an undo move and (finally) the mirror build mode. You can expect these changes in december. We're also redesigning the skin management system so that it's more user friendly and discussing how to adjust the construction rules so that they are more consistent. The specifics will be the topic of another dev diary.

Bigger Matches - experimental

We are currently doing performance and gameplay tests for matches larger than 5v5. Currently we think the current maps could handle about 8v8 matches gameplay-wise, however this can change based on performance testing.

That's it for this week. We're excited for a lot of these changes. As always, let us know what you think on the FORUM! Also we're looking forward to seeing you on Discord.



Martin "Gajxo" Gajarsky
Game Designer